Victory for Verstappen Despite Penalty and Crash at Las Vegas Grand Prix

Inaugural Formula 1 Las Vegas Grand Prix Recap: Max Verstappen of Team Red Bull Dominates

The inaugural Formula 1 Las Vegas Grand Prix saw favorite Max Verstappen dominating with his 18th victory in 21 races this season. The race was not without its share of excitement, with Verstappen overcoming a collision and a five-second penalty that initially placed him in fifth position. The nail-biting event took place on Saturday, November 18, at 10 p.m.

The Dutch champ faced a five-second penalty for forcing Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc’s car off the track, as well as front-wing damage from a crash with Mercedes’ George Russell. However, Verstappen expertly fought his way back, overtaking his competitors and ultimately clinching the win. Leclerc and Perez were locked in a tight race for second place, with Leclerc ultimately securing the position.

Other notable finishers included Esteban Ocon of Alpine in fourth place and Lance Stroll in fifth for Aston Martin. Max Verstappen’s impressive victory at the inaugural F1 Las Vegas Grand Prix further cements his place in Formula 1 history. With one more Grand Prix scheduled next week in Abu Dhabi, Verstappen might set an unprecedented record of 19 wins in a single season.

Here are the complete race results:

1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) – 25 points
2. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) – 18 points
3. Sergio Perez (Red Bull) – 15 points
4. Esteban Ocon (Alpine Renault) – 12 points
5. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) – 10 points
6. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) – 8 points
7. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – 6 points
8. George Russell (Mercedes) – 4 points
9. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin) – 2 points
10. Oscar Piastri (McLaren Mercedes) – 2 points
11. Pierre Gasly (Alpine Renault)
12. Alexander Albon (Williams Mercedes)
13. Kevin Magnussen (Haas Ferrari)
14. Daniel Ricciardo (Alphatauri Honda)
15. Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo Ferrari)
16. Logan Sargeant (Williams Mercedes)
17. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo Ferrari)
18. Yuki Tsunoda (Alphatauri Honda) – Did not finish
19. Nico Hulkenberg (Haas Ferrari) – Did not finish
NC. Lando Norris (McLaren Mercedes) – Did not finish.

Source link

Leave a Comment